How I made my Rosemary oil and benefits.

Hey lovelies.

imageThis post is on a simple DIY I did about a month ago. Been reading about the benefits of Rosemary oil so I decided to make one for myself. Here are some of the benefits I got from around the web:
– When applied over the scalp, rosemary essential oil helps stimulate hair growth. Many people also claim that it can prevent baldness, slows graying, and can be used to treat dandruff and dry scalp.

– Stimulates and improves circulation to the scalp thus encouraging hair growth.
-Due to it’s antibacterial quality, it gently cleanses hair.
-Increases shine.
-Fights premature graying.
-Relieves irritated, dry, flaky, dandruffridden scalps.
– Fights hair loss.

There are two methods to make this oil.
One method is to buy Rosemary essential oil which is highly concentrated and then mix a few drops of this with your choice oil such as olive oil or coconut oil. (Note that essential oils should be mixed with a carrier oil because of its high concentration).
The other method is to infuse your choice oil with rosemary leaves. And this is the method I used.
What I did was:
– Buy some already dried rosemary leaves but I guess you can buy the fresh leaves and dry it yourself.
– Then I poured some olive oil in an empty container, put the dried rosemary in it then sealed the container.
– I then put the bottle in a dark corner of my room and left it there for about three weeks. This allowed the Rosemary leaves to really penetrate into the olive oil. I didn’t use heat to infuse it so I wouldn’t destroy the properties of the oil.
After three weeks, I poured the contents in a sieve to get just the oil without the Rosemary leaves. Then I poured it back in the bottle (empty ORS conditioner bottle). That’s all.
Naturalgirlonabudget.com Now I have my Rosemary infused oil and even though I had my hair in mind when I made this oil, I’ve also been using it on my skin and it’s really good.
I mixed a part of this with some coconut oil and I’ve been using it on my hair.. It smells really good too and apart from your hair, there’s a lot of other things rosemary oil is good for. I’ve almost used up this batch and I have plans to make another one before this one finishes.
Would you try this DIY?
Love.. Ella

19 thoughts on “How I made my Rosemary oil and benefits.

  1. Hello Ella,

    I like DIYs. I’ll try this if I find rosemary leaves.

    How was that photograph shot? I’m curious about how the background was pitch black and the subjects (bottles and rosemary) were so clear. I am working on improving my image editing skills. Please let me know.

    Thank you. 🙂

    Like

      • Wow that’s genius, using a black skirt. Love the picture.
        I would like to try out this oil. I infused olive oil with African basil (scent leaf, nchuanwu, efirin) just like this a while back. I dried the leaves myself. It smelled like italian food lol, but I liked it for my scalp

        Liked by 2 people

  2. This was an interesting read and I always love all your posts because they are straight to the point. I’ll def try this DIY method but I’ll like to know…is Argan Oil an essential oil too? I really can’t seem to know oils that are essential oil.

    Like

  3. Thank you so much. Argan oil isn’t an essential oil. Essential oils contain the characteristic fragrance of the plant (or other source) it was extracted from. Oils distilled from Rosemary, lavender, tea tree, peppermint etc are essential oils..

    Like

  4. So i checked up rosemary plants picture online and booom, its confirmed. They are the plants growing just outside my office. I’ll definitely try this out instead of buying expensive essential oil. Thanks a lot

    Like

Leave a comment